Page 1 of 11 123 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 16 of 174

Thread: Tech Support

  1. #1
    Blue Chip Prospect canadiansportsjunkie's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2014
    Location
    Cambridge, Ontario
    Posts
    1,434
    Thanks
    136
    Thanked 127 Times in 101 Posts

    Tech Support

    Does anyone know how to fix my desktop.

    When I turn it on it gets stuck on windows boot manager.

    File: WDFLRD.SYS
    Status: 0xc0000098
    Info: Windows failed to load because a required file is missing or corrupt.



    I dot have any of the windows disc as I bought this used. Do I need to buy windows or something??? It was working yesterday fine

    Any help would be awesome.

  2. #2
    Blue Chip Prospect
    Join Date
    Jun 2014
    Posts
    1,446
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 236 Times in 169 Posts
    Can you get into the bios and then boot in safe mode?

    That's where I would start.

  3. #3
    Blue Chip Prospect canadiansportsjunkie's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2014
    Location
    Cambridge, Ontario
    Posts
    1,434
    Thanks
    136
    Thanked 127 Times in 101 Posts
    When I try safe mode same screen pops up.

    I can access the set up but I don't know what to do.

    When the computer did work for the last week once I logged it it would say windows is not active so I would just hit activate later and it worked great....does that mean windows was never there and it just finally stopped working...meaning I need to buy windows????


    Just want to make sure it's not something that can be fixed myself with help before bringing it in and getting charged $$$$

  4. #4
    All Star AdamGreenwood's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Posts
    5,549
    Thanks
    302
    Thanked 1,838 Times in 1,092 Posts
    Oh, I have an excel question.

    I want to be able to take a raw data spreadsheet, and be able to dump in formulas etc, so that the same raw data is manipulated the same way each time.
    What is the best way to do that?

  5. #5
    Orioles Hangout Admin Boxcar's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Posts
    22,201
    Thanks
    2,107
    Thanked 7,919 Times in 4,939 Posts
    I have a Microsoft Word question

    How do I use spell check?
    Quote Originally Posted by Dr. Dinger View Post
    All black people have an obligation to their own people to not further their own systematic oppression. Go fuck yourself.

  6. #6
    Blue Chip Prospect canadiansportsjunkie's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2014
    Location
    Cambridge, Ontario
    Posts
    1,434
    Thanks
    136
    Thanked 127 Times in 101 Posts
    Ps willing to send an email $$ transfer for someone if they can help

  7. #7
    Blue Chip Prospect
    Join Date
    Jun 2014
    Posts
    1,446
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 236 Times in 169 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by canadiansportsjunkie View Post
    When I try safe mode same screen pops up.

    I can access the set up but I don't know what to do.

    When the computer did work for the last week once I logged it it would say windows is not active so I would just hit activate later and it worked great....does that mean windows was never there and it just finally stopped working...meaning I need to buy windows????


    Just want to make sure it's not something that can be fixed myself with help before bringing it in and getting charged $$$$
    I think you will need a valid windows installation disk at the very least to fix the problem.

  8. #8
    MVP
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Posts
    11,610
    Thanks
    608
    Thanked 2,593 Times in 1,930 Posts
    If I had to guess, I'd say your hard drive is dying. Windows was there, but (as far as I know) not activating it doesn't cause it to delete files and not boot up, it would just eventually force you to activate it to continue using it.

    If you had Windows 10 and had activated it, then all you need is to get a disk off someone and reinstall. It'll automatically detect your computer as being valid. If you didn't activate it or had a lower version of Windows, you're probably fucked. If I had to guess, the person you bought it off of probably didn't have a license for installing Windows on it, and you probably couldn't have registered it anyway. All of this doesn't address the likelihood that your hard drive may need replacing either.

  9. #9
    Blue Chip Prospect canadiansportsjunkie's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2014
    Location
    Cambridge, Ontario
    Posts
    1,434
    Thanks
    136
    Thanked 127 Times in 101 Posts
    I also think they didn't have a license for windows...which means I have to buy one does it matter which one I purchase???

    As for the hard drive I have no idea and hope it's not that.

  10. #10
    MVP
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Posts
    11,610
    Thanks
    608
    Thanked 2,593 Times in 1,930 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by AdamGreenwood View Post
    Oh, I have an excel question.

    I want to be able to take a raw data spreadsheet, and be able to dump in formulas etc, so that the same raw data is manipulated the same way each time.
    What is the best way to do that?
    Method 1 (and preferable): Go into the underlying VBA and write a function to do it.
    Method 2: Make a "template" spreadsheet with the formulas in the right columns, then paste just the formulas in the raw one.
    Method 3: Make a "template" spreadsheet with the formulas that references another tab, and paste the raw data into that tab.

  11. The Following User Says Thank You to Abomination For This Useful Post:

    AdamGreenwood (04-10-2016)

  12. #11
    MVP
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Posts
    11,610
    Thanks
    608
    Thanked 2,593 Times in 1,930 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Boxcar View Post
    I have a Microsoft Word question

    How do I use spell check?
    In new Windows you don't use spell check, spell check uses you.

  13. #12
    Blue Chip Prospect canadiansportsjunkie's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2014
    Location
    Cambridge, Ontario
    Posts
    1,434
    Thanks
    136
    Thanked 127 Times in 101 Posts
    Dam windows 10 is expensive!

    I hate computers.

  14. #13
    Blue Chip Prospect
    Join Date
    Jun 2014
    Posts
    1,446
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 236 Times in 169 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by canadiansportsjunkie View Post
    I also think they didn't have a license for windows...which means I have to buy one does it matter which one I purchase???

    As for the hard drive I have no idea and hope it's not that.
    It is possible that it could be a hardware failure but your first step should be doing a system recovery (repair) from an install disk from your current operating system that has a valid license which hasn't been used.

    Then I would try to re-install the operating system if that didn't work.

    Then I would look at hardware failure.

    If that fixes the problem then I would download and install the free home version of windows 10 from Microsofts website.

  15. #14
    MVP
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Posts
    11,610
    Thanks
    608
    Thanked 2,593 Times in 1,930 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by canadiansportsjunkie View Post
    I also think they didn't have a license for windows...which means I have to buy one does it matter which one I purchase???

    As for the hard drive I have no idea and hope it's not that.
    Either Windows 7 or Windows 10 would be my recommendation (10 is probably cheaper and a better solution unless you're doing a bunch of torrent/illegal stuff). You COULD put Linux on it as a free alternative too if you wanted to. ZorinOS is an interesting Linux implementation that looks and feels a lot like Windows, and has Wine built in so you can run a lot of Windows programs on it out of the box.

    There are programs available that you can use to check your drives. Ultimatebootcd.com has some all in one place, but that of course is contingent on being able to MAKE the boot cd.

  16. #15
    Blue Chip Prospect canadiansportsjunkie's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2014
    Location
    Cambridge, Ontario
    Posts
    1,434
    Thanks
    136
    Thanked 127 Times in 101 Posts
    Some people said to download windows from some torrent then transfer plus it's free. Crazy computer smart people! I know how to use a hammer :/

  17. #16
    All Star Cyborg's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2015
    Posts
    4,106
    Thanks
    506
    Thanked 1,732 Times in 961 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by AdamGreenwood View Post
    Oh, I have an excel question.

    I want to be able to take a raw data spreadsheet, and be able to dump in formulas etc, so that the same raw data is manipulated the same way each time.
    What is the best way to do that?
    Copy and special paste formula. I guess. Or have a template you dump the data into. VBA could also work.

    edit: didn't see Abom

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •